Rest - Reisverslag uit Prince George, Canada van Lieke Brummelhuis - WaarBenJij.nu Rest - Reisverslag uit Prince George, Canada van Lieke Brummelhuis - WaarBenJij.nu

Rest

Door: Lieke

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Lieke

12 Juni 2017 | Canada, Prince George

Day 10: Rest day in Prince George
Since we had finished all chores yesterday after our bike ride, we had a free day ahead of us. Prince George is a decently sized town of concrete buildings (barely any high-risers) and two lane streets that are mainly occupied by pick-up trucks. Like many other places in North America, everything is done by car. There are quite a few homeless people walking around, and they sleep in parks or in the bush next to the street. In other words, this is not a town for sight-seeing but probably great for fishing, hiking, and other outdoor activities besides shopping.
Dad choose for the first, and I reserved a tee time for him at the golf course. He and Robert, one of the riders, would play golf in the afternoon. I initially wanted to go for a hike, until I discovered that all nice hikes started at least 25k out of town and I didn't really feel like biking 50k on a rest day. Hence, I started a city hike in the morning with dad. We hiked to a park up on a hill near our hotel and looked over town. This is where the above description of Prince George is mainly based on. I then realized there was not really a point in continuing my city hike in this ugly place. Plan B was to go shopping, which I did successfully by buying warm camping clothes and an insulated jacket. The rest of the day I will use to plan my next trip (a long weekend hiking), to repack my bags and to finish my second book on this trip. I actually already look forward to the next few biking days. They will be much less intense than the 6 consecutive bike days we started with. And we are getting closer to the Jasper and Banff area, for which I really came. In four days (of which only 1 very tough day) we will arrive in Jasper!

  • 13 Juni 2017 - 09:35

    Sander Kroeze:

    Hoi 'gave' Lieke (en Paul),
    Wat een mooie uitdagende tocht maken jullie samen en wat leuk dat je daar over schrijft!
    Ik hoop voor jullie dat het zonnetje vanaf nu gaat schijnen, want die regen...pffff
    Geniet met elkaar van de tocht en ik hoor de overige verhalen tijdens het familie weekend van Paul.

    Groetjes,

    Sander

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Lieke

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 348
Totaal aantal bezoekers 30769

Voorgaande reizen:

02 Juni 2017 - 22 Juni 2017

Biking in Canada

01 Oktober 2007 - 30 December 2007

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: