Two days of rest - Reisverslag uit Jasper Park Lodge, Canada van Lieke Brummelhuis - WaarBenJij.nu Two days of rest - Reisverslag uit Jasper Park Lodge, Canada van Lieke Brummelhuis - WaarBenJij.nu

Two days of rest

Door: Lieke

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Lieke

17 Juni 2017 | Canada, Jasper Park Lodge

Day 14: Jasper
On Friday morning, we were supposed to bike to Jasper. But we were already in Jasper. And therefore, we had a leisurely breakfast in the best bakery in town. We spent the morning with shopping (rain gear, hiking shoes). And then the van with our bags already arrived around 11am. Some of the riders had not started the ride or only bike after lunch and were already in the hotel as well. I had a nice lunch with Desyree and Jane in the same place as in August when I had made a road trip through the Canadian Rockies with Senta.
In the afternoon, I biked 7km uphill to Lake Patricia and Pyramid Lake. My plan was to hike on the hill next to Pyramid Lake (6k loop) as the views would be amazing. I walked by a sign that warned me for aggressive elk. Initially I ignored it, but after 50 meter, I found fresh elk poo on the trail and decided it was not really necessary to hike 6km by myself at 5pm in the afternoon. I returned to the hotel to have a nice dinner with dad and Mike.

Day 15: Jasper
TDA had arranged rafting for the group and the majority of the riders met at 8:30am to leave for this adventure. We were equipped with good wet suits, boots, and life vests and I got a front seat in one of the boats. The water was cold (3 degrees) but it was nice and sunny out so it wasn't bad at all to get a little wet. The scenery from the river was absolutely amazing. One mountain even more impressive than the other. The water was wild at moments but not too wild; all in all just a really good time with the group.
In the afternoon, I had lunch with Max, and since the other staff members had decided to rent a car to go to Lake Maligne, about 50km from Jasper, we climbed to Pyramid Lake by bike with the two of us to finish the hike (or start) that I had not dared to do by myself last night. Of course we did not see any elk, but the views were amazing. Then, we biked to Maligne Canyon, 10k out of Jasper, and 7k uphill. More stunning views followed. This time from a canyon that was about 50m deep (63.86 m according to our own calculation using the 'throw a rock' method).

Meanwhile, dad had managed somehow to sign himself up for a golf match at Jasper Lodge Park, a unique golf course given its unusual scenery. We had a late dinner (but early for Father's Day) and then it was time to arrange our bags and get ready for the last four bike days of our trip. Between Jasper and Lake Louise, there is practically nothing (except mountains, water falls and glaciers), so we'll go back to basic for two nights. I hope to be able to check in again in Banff where we will arrive on Tuesday afternoon.

  • 19 Juni 2017 - 00:35

    Bas:

    Lieve Lieke, bedankt voor de mooie foto's en verhalen. Veel succes met de laatste dagen fietsen in de Canadese bergen. Hoop op droog weer! Groet Bas

  • 20 Juni 2017 - 21:10

    Jane (Karen's Mum):

    Hello Lieka..Karen sent me a link to your cycle blog and just wanted to say how much I have enjoyed reading it. This is such a strenuous adventure and I can't quite get my head around the number of kilometres you have covered. Hoping your back is coping with the intensity of it all and I bet you can't wait to get back to your own bed and to see Kai again. Thank you for sharing this experience. Jane x

  • 23 Juni 2017 - 00:00

    Lieke Ten Brummelhuis:

    Hi Jane! I'm glad Karen shared the link. It was so nice to meet you in Vancouver and thanks again for inspiring me to reanimate my blog and write about my bike trip!
    Lieke

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Lieke

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 500
Totaal aantal bezoekers 30782

Voorgaande reizen:

02 Juni 2017 - 22 Juni 2017

Biking in Canada

01 Oktober 2007 - 30 December 2007

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: